I Will Remain…

index97.jpg

In my leadership class my group was assigned a leadership-themed book and it was A Leader’s Legacy.  

As a leader we do things each day that help to create what our legacy will be.

The greatest leaders are those that do for others, not themselves.

The things you do for others will shape the legacy you leave because the things you do for yourself die with you.

legacy-quote-3-picture-quote-1

The book taught be that leaders are going to suffer and it is important to be interested in others success.

As a leader you lead by example and teach others by showing them what to do.

Everyday we encounter people, at which they get to see who we are. Your actions and encounters play a role in the legacy you leave.

It is important to stay mindful of what you show others because that is how others will remember you as.

3ab7e7604e795b977a9fc6576c09d3ee

Not only is it important to teach others, but be open to learn from others.

Everyone in your life has a lesson to give you.

To grow and become the person you need to be you must be open to never stop learning and growing.

Those who leave the strongest legacies are those that don’t sit by, they stand up and make things happen. You show others that you can make a difference!

As a leader, you must trust, encourage and appreciate those around you because it makes a great impact on how they see you. Not only is it the things you do, but the way you act towards others that show your character and the legacy you want to leave.

Leader’s require courage. Courage to be

the person they want to be by standing by their values and beliefs.

An important lesson I learned from the book is that everyone has their own legacy they want to leave and as a leader you have to be mindful of that. Many people in charge tend to infringe on the freedom of others to express their ideas or work independently.

index

A part of our project was to do a video portion. We choose to tape people asking them what they want their legacy to be and what they are doing now to achieve that.

click here for our video

We found it important to think to ask ourselves those questions.

We get caught up in life and sometimes forget what we are truly trying to accomplish. We all have an idea of what legacy we want to leave, but are we doing the right things each day to leave that legacy?

I want to make a legacy that will represent who I want to be saw as. Now I am going to work on how I can create my legacy. I am going to be more positive and inspirational to those that I am around. I am going to continue being involved and doing volunteer work because it is giving be the opportunity to build my legacy.

I want to be compassionate.

I want to be self-less.

I want to be up-lifting.

I want to inspire others.

At which, I will remain… by the image I create for myself.

index6

Leave a Reply

