My Voice is My New Favorite Sound

k.jpg

Through LAS one of our classes was COM 267. As part of our blog criteria we have to reflect about our experience in debate. Through this post I want to share my fears, beliefs, and views of debate after the class.

I was the person who would hide from conflict.

If I had a problem, I would try to ignore it or I would quietly speak up and be shut down by anyone more confident then myself.

I let people walk over me.

I forgave those, when those didn’t even know I was upset.

I had no voice.

I didn’t know how to use my voice.

I didn’t want to hurt people.

But, in the end I just hurt myself…

 

Taking the debate class gave me a reason to use my voice.

It also taught me the importance of my voice.

I was forced to debate topics with others in the class and saw the power it had.

As a democracy, our voices are so important.

If we want something changed or fixed we are given the right to speak up.

We are the voice of change and we keep this country a democracy.

We voice our opinions to protect our rights and change anything unjust.

index9

If we don’t speak up, there will never be change.

I am so thankful for the people who knew the importance of their voice.

Those people fought for rights that impacted myself, like women rights.

The fight for equality for women is still present, because of the courage of those who see a problem and want a change.

081507c6a494c194646ae6dc5f3e87bf

Speech is power.

I learned how to use my voice to show and persuade others of my perspective.

Debate showed me the difference of debating and arguing.

Through arguing nothing gets accomplished, but debating gives alternative to voice your opinion in a respectful manner.

You should never disagree to hurt someone else, but to speak your opinions and feelings and that is what debate is used for.

index

I have gone through life being stepped on and I have finely found my voice.

I was scared of what my voice could do.

I was scared of conflict.

But now I know the importance and the power of my voice.

Not only can my voice help stand up for myself, but help to make change in the world whether it is in politics, discrimination, or on the other abundance of issues we face in this world today.

I will no longer sit back and let my voice go unheard.

I encourage those who feel like they are being a doormat to speak their mind because nothing will change if you don’t use it.

My voice is my new favorite sound and I cannot wait to use it out.

 

images                                     059a949e2bb16ae2647b2a9dc8010640

Leave a Reply

