Where does Leadership come from? Y or N

As a blog post requirement, we were given the prompt of answering the question, “Where does leadership come from a yes or no?” I encourage you to ask yourself that and then evaluate your life and see if you are a no or yes leader.

I believe leadership comes from no. Anyone can say yes, saying no takes courage. And that is true leadership.

There are 3 ways Leadership can come from no.

  1. A great leader knows when to say no.
  2. A great leader doesn’t back down when they are told no, they are built up.
  3. A great leader will say no to the crowd.

 

Every leader can say yes. It is easy to say yes, but a great leader can say no.

It starts with no. Being able to say no and being strong enough to know what you can handle.

Most amateur leaders will spread themselves to thin and say yes to everything thinking that is what a leader has to do.

When you learn to say know is that point you truly become a leader. When we have enough courage to say no we are then able to concentrate on things that are most important to us.

When we are spread thin we are doing less work on a lot of things, but when we cut down on what we do we are able to put in our heart and full effort into what we choose is the most important to keep in our lives.

Another key thing a leader learns when there are able to say no is the ability to confront others and how to deal with disappointing people because in the end we cannot please everyone.

66aff270b9cab27221d7749257524540                      ce5nfszweaetolu

 

740ae0af399a4bde1f93759f4bf9db7e

 

Another way no plays into leaders is by standing up and persevering when we are told no.

The best leaders take it as a challenge to keep going.

As a leader I grew the most when I was told no. I had to innovate, find different ways, and work harder. If you truly want something in life no one saying you can’t do something should matter. The only thing in the way of getting to a dream is yourself.

I also grew my character by staying determined, confident, and self assured.

Many famous people were told they could not do something, but they were leaders and leaders do not let no stop them. For example, Michael Jordan was cut from his high school team, but not he is a famous basketball player.

There is strength and beauty in being able to be denied, but find the will to continue on and prove others wrong.

 

4f3fa52394c94ed3e195f95773eb07e0

 

Lastly, a leader will say no to the crowd when they need to.

So many people stay in their comfort zone and are afraid of upsetting others and standing alone.

Sometimes the crowd is not right. Sometimes something is not right, but no one has the courage to say something.

Leadership is being able to say no when no one else is and stop something that is not good from being done. That is true leadership.

It starts with recognizing the problem and knowing that true leaders say no.

544e8c98194f135e942eab95ecdcc161

 After answering the prompt, I want to be more of a no leader.

Sometimes I take on too much to handle and in the future I want to be more comfortable with saying no and giving myself more time for things.

Also, I mentioned not letting no stop you as a leader. That idea is really important to me because I have experienced others telling me I can not do something.  I never let that stop me and I hope to continue being bold and passionate about things, even when I am told no.

Lastly, I hope to gain more courage and confidence in being able to say no when I see something wrong. I believe we have a human instinct to stay clear of convict, but I don’t want to play into that. I want to be that person that makes a difference even if I am standing alone.

Leave a Reply

