Spark Leadership Experience Reflection

Spark Leadership Series is a program training at Central Michigan University. The training is interactive and last roughly 5 hours. This training is meant to help develop your leadership style, network and connect with diverse people, and challenge yourself through leadership activities.

To check out more about Spark Training click this link https://www.cmich.edu/ess/leadership/Pages/alpha.aspx.

This training was more than just doing leadership activities like other training events I have been to, this one allowed me to see what kind of leader I was through a test we were given. It gave me insight and answers to why I do certain things, especially when I lead. My  results showed that my leadership style was spirited. 16251892_10154420433399075_7252067262165220396_o

I learned that as a spirited leader we are high in assertiveness and expressiveness. Other things I learned was that I am a big-picture thinker. I motivate to be creative and create fresh ideas. Another interesting strength as a spirited leader is that we are spontaneous so it keeps a fun atmosphere. I can relate to being a spirited leader because I have a bubbly personality and always am full of life and creativity.

16252347_10154420436084075_7731585069656925225_o

My lowest score for leadership style was considerate. my plan for the future is to listen more, incorporate, and be more patient. I want to grow in this weakness because I value the leaders that are more considerate. I intend on learning through experience , by engulfing myself in more leadership roles and practicing that leadership style. My specific goals to practice being more of a considerate leader is to make sure I ask others for their opinions, stay present and not distracted, and give time to others and fully listen them. I now this will help me because as a spirited leader I can be overenthusiastic with my own ideas. A great leader will acknowledge their weaknesses and work on them to become a better leader, and I intend to do so.

Another thing I want to work on in the future is the trouble spots I learned about for being a spirited leader. The weaknesses we have are being too persuasive, indecisive, and we can  lose sight of long term goals. I believe growing in other leadership styles will help me be able to just apply all my strengths and be aware of what type of leader I want to be. Now, I am going to explore other leadership styles, including being considerate like I talked about. I believe a great leader needs to have some of each leadership style because they are all important.

Additionally, like other trainings I learned so much from being able to connect with different leaders and gain a wider perspective. Through activities we were able to pool all of our strengths and give different perspectives. I got to grow and learn from those around me and create friendships with people different from myself. For future, I am going to continue immersing myself in different cultures, leadership styles, and ideas of other people because it only helps yourself from gaining a broader perspective.

img_20170121_142544img_20170121_142657

 

Overall, Spark gave me a better insight to who I am and how I can improve on my leadership skills. Also, it helped me get different perspectives and learn different leadership styles by working with people with styles other than mine. I now feel confident in who I am and how to work with people and be more understanding of other leadership styles.

Leave a Reply

