Ted Talk Reflection WHY

How great leaders inspire action is a Ted talk I was assigned to watch in my leadership class. Simon Sinek, a visionary thinker, explains the golden circle and explains why people follow certain ideas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Simon encourages to do things working inside out. Why are you doing this? How are you going to get there? And what are you doing?

In life we see a lot of people starting from the outside working in and those people do not know their purpose because they work on why last. With anything in life you should no why you are doing something and work off of that because that is more impacting because you started with a purpose.

People will start following you when you live by your why, because you will bring people on board with the same beliefs as you. You empower others by the purpose you have, not by what you are doing.  By starting with why you are able to explain why something is important to you and gain support from others who believe in the same.

I can admit I am guilty of working outward in occasionally, but after this video it has open my eyes and refocused me to focus on my purpose in life and why I do the things I do. I now have a clearly meaning of how working with why first can be more powerful when leading others. The best leaders are those that inspire others and by doing so I now will stay determined in incorporating this theory of starting with why in my life. Everyone wants to have their own legacy and work for a purpose by realizing this it helps with attracting people with your why. The way I think has changed and everyday I challenge myself to live more with purpose. Some people float by going through the motions, but I want to bring meaning to the things I do.

Leave a Reply

