Mentor Reflection

Freshmen year is coming to an end, which means mentee preparation! Through my Leadership Advancement scholarship it means I will be a mentor my sophomore year, to a next years LAS freshmen. In preparation in transforming from a mentee to a mentor we had a session in our leadership class discussing with fellow classmates ideas of how to be a great mentor. I have been so excited for this moment and had taken a lot of thought into what kind of mentor I want to be. Before our mentor workshop in class my ideas about being a mentor were faint, but after I was able to be more confident and reassure myself about how to be a successful mentor. Also, from the workshop I was able to gain a broader perspective from other classmates ideas. The new ideas allows be to have a greater grasp of how to go about certain situations, also with being aware of certain situations I didn’t think about.

11503
mentee to mentor!

I am so excited about being a mentor because it is an honorable position to have knowing that you are given this opportunity to help them in adjusting to college. Also, no one else can be their mentor, others can be a mentor figure, but you are assigned to a specific person. I am excited to spread my love for CMU and help them try new things, because this is exciting time in our lives. I believe in experiencing as many things as possible in order for them to learn what they like/dislike and broaden their horizons by learning about new things. Not only am I excited to be a mentor, but a friend, too. During the hard times whatever it may be I want my mentee to know that I am there for them and it is okay to not be okay. I want them to know they are not alone.  I am passionate about the things I do and the clubs I am apart of and I want my mentee to experience them and challenge themselves, but also find their own passion at campus.

I am preparing myself to be a mentor by letting go of my mentor in the sense of being less dependable of them. I have to be more independent and self-sufficient in order to be a dependable mentor for my future mentee.  Also, I am brainstorming different ways my mentor made me feel important and an example was sending texts to check in on how I was doing or just sending positive affirmation of saying they were proud of me. Another idea I have is to set a certain time a way to hangout with my mentee, so we can bond and have no distractions. College can be busy and I want to make sure we can have that quality time together. Another thing I loved that my mentor did was she met up with me before school started and that allowed me to ask questions and ease the pre-college nerves. Meeting with her was so helpful and allowed me to go to school confident. I want to provide the same opportunity for my mentee, because I want them to have the confidence and the re-assurance they need. Ultimately, I am going to be a mentor that can adapt to what they need and go out of my way to meet those needs. As, well as be open with them in knowing what they expect from me.

With most new experiences you can only plan so much. I know I will have to learn along the way, but I am not nervous because we will have each other. This kind of thing you can’t completely plan for, except to make sure that you are leading by example and doing things that would exemplify a good role model. Lastly, I super excited to have this bond with another LAS scholar. I hope that my mentee will feel confident and have an easy transition to college through my help. Most importantly, I am excited to have them impact my life. Only the best leaders get into this program and I can not even imagine the incredible talents they will be able to teach teach/inspire me. I hope through this process we will both be able to grow as leaders and be there for each other.

OVERALL, I AM SUPER EXCITED!!!

giphy

Leave a Reply

